July 22, 2014

Subscriber Login

Example of Table Blog layout (FAQ section)
Lima Junior Golf Association
Written by Staff Reports   
Thursday, July 17, 2014 8:02 PM

McDonald’s Junior Series

Dick Clark Real Estate Open - Delphos Country Club - Par 71

Thursday’s Results

BOYS 12-13

1. Christian Nartker 42; 2. (tie) Cole Fletcher 45, Adam Gerker 45 and Ethan Harmon 45 (Fletcher wins a playoff for 2nd place); 3. Gavin Harmon 46; 4. (tie) Ryan Moody 48 and Austin Radcliff 48; 5. Jack Gerker 49; 6. Noah Brinegar 50; 7. (tie) Alivia Koenig 53 and Braydon Ruble 53; 8. (tie) Zane Fast 55 and Alex Wisser 55; 9. Grant Csukker 62.

BOYS 14-15

1. Collin Nartker 37-39-76; 2. Jake Smalley 38-38-77; 3. Jeffrey Knueve 41-39-80; 4. Sam Reed 41-41-82; 5. Jared Hernandez 48-38-86; 6. Austin Lucas 47-41-88; 7. Evan Baughman 42-47-89; 8. Eli Kuck 46-47-93; 9. Jacob Black 50-44-94; 10. Daniel Magowan 46-49-95; 11. Derek Klausing 47-51-98; 12. Troy Rindler 53-47-100; 13. Nick Guerrero 51-51-102; 14. Joey Miller 55-49-104; 15. Andrew Cook 54-54-108; 16. Robbie Buescher 62-47-109; 17. Cade McGarvey 58-54-112; 18. Sean Houston 62-56-118.

Golf Glance
Written by Associated Press   
Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:17 PM

Associated Press



Site: Hoylake, England.

Schedule: Today-Sunday.

Course: Royal Liverpool Golf Club (7,312 yards, par 72).

Purse: 5.4 million pounds ($9.24 million). Winner’s share: 975,000 pounds ($1.67 million).

Television: ESPN (Today-Friday, 4 a.m.-6 p.m., 7-10 p.m.; Saturday, 7 a.m.-2:30 p.m., 7-10 p.m.; Sunday, 6 a.m.-1:30 p.m.) and ABC (Saturday-Sunday, 3-6 p.m.).

Last year: Phil Mickelson won at Muirfield for his fifth major title, birdieing four of the last six holes for a 5-under 66. He finished at 3 under for a 3-stroke victory.

Last week: Justin Rose won the European Tour’s Scottish Open at Royal Aberdeen for his second straight victory, holding off Kristoffer Broberg by two strokes. Rose won the PGA Tour’s Quicken Loans National at Congressional in his previous start. … Brian Harman won the John Deere Classic in Silvis, Illinois, for his first PGA Tour title, beating Zach Johnson by a stroke. Harmon earned a spot at Hoylake.

Notes: Tiger Woods, the winner at St. Andrews in 2000 and 2005 and Royal Liverpool in 2006, is making his second start since having back surgery March 31. He missed the cut three weeks ago at Congressional in his first event since Doral in early March. Woods won the last of his 14 major titles in the 2008 U.S. Open. … Mickelson is winless since his victory last year at Muirfield. … The tournament is the third major of the year. Bubba Watson won the Masters and Martin Kaymer took the U.S. Open. … Founded in 1869, Royal Liverpool is the second-oldest course in England. … The 2015 event will be played at St. Andrews. … The Canadian Open is next week at Royal Montreal. The European Tour will be in Moscow next week for the Russian Open.

Online: http://www.opengolf.com

Hendrick and Penske headed for tight title fight
Written by Associated Press   
Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:16 PM


Associated Press

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Hendrick Motorsports seems to have the edge, at least on paper, in the race with Team Penske for the top organization in NASCAR.

Hendrick has three drivers ranked in the top five of the Sprint Cup Series standings and Jeff Gordon has been the points leader for 12 of the last 13 races. Combined, Hendrick drivers have six victories this season.

Team Penske has both its drivers in the top nine in points, with Brad Keselowski charging hard after Gordon’s lead. Keselowski’s victory last week at New Hampshire was his third of the season, tying him for the most in the series with Jimmie Johnson.

With only seven races until the Chase for the Sprint Cup Championship begins, it’s shaping up to be a Hendrick vs. Penske battle for the title.

“You’ve got the Ford versus Chevy and both organizations seem to be on top of their game right now,” Gordon said. “To me, there’s that competitive rivalry that we have among all our competitors, and when one rises to the top, then they put a target on their back and you go after it, and you have that sort of rivalry.”

But Gordon doesn’t want to be drawn into a personal rivalry with the Penske organization or drivers Keselowski and Joey Logano.

“There’s been a little bit here and there but you know, I think Brad certainly doesn’t mind a little controversy and stirring it up as we’ve seen social media wise and just in the media,” Gordon added. “For us, it’s just going about our business trying to be the best that we possibly can and those guys seem to be the teams to beat right now.

“If there’s any rivalry, it’s just that we’re working hard to go out there and be the most competitive team out there.”

Pirates conquer Braves in LL finals
Written by Jim Metcalfe   
Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:12 PM
The Delphos Pirates finished a successful 2014 Tri-County Little League campaign as champions of the post-season tournament Wednesday night, after also sweeping the regular season and Fourth of July Tournament. Members of the team are, front row left to right, Trent Lindeman, Brady Zalar, Braxton Scalf, Cole Binkley and Devin Haggard; and back, assistant coach Lenny Hubert, Blake Fischbach, Logan Hubert, head coach Ray Geary, Hunter Haehn, Brady Parrish and assistant coach Scott Scalf. Absent is Jaylen Jefferson. (DHI Media/Jim Metcalfe)


DHI Media Sports Editor

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


DELPHOS — The Mel and Dee Westrich Memorial Athletic Complex at Delphos Stadium Park was the site of Wednesday’s Tri-County Little League finals matching the Delphos Pirates and the Delphos Braves.

The Pirates were going for a clean sweep of the 2014 summer — regular season, Fourth of July Tournament and the league tournament.

They scored twice in the bottom of the fifth inning and southpaw Braxton Scalf shut the door in the top of the sixth to give them that tourney title with a 3-2 victory.

Scalf got the save with his one inning of relief (1 hit, 1 base-on-balls), with second hurler Hunter Haehn (2 innings, 2 hits, 1 unearned run, 3 BBs) getting the win.

Brady Parrish threw the first three frames (2 hits, 1 earned run, 2 BBs, 6 Ks). The trio combined for 110 pitches (62 strikes).

The runs gave the loss to Braves’ reliever Brady Welker (2 IPs, 2 hits, 2 runs, 1 earned, 1 BB, 2 Ks), taking over for starter Carson Muhlenkamp (3 IPs, 3 hits, 1 earned run, 3 BBs, 5 Ks). The duo combined for 86 pitches (51 strikes).

Down 2-1 entering the bottom of the fifth, ninth hitter Trent Lindeman led off the Pirates’ half with a free pass. Scalf (2 runs) walked and a passed ball advanced both runners. An out later, Blake Fischbach (2-for-2, walk, 2 runs batted in) lashed a 2-run single to deep center for that 3-2 lead. He advanced on a wild pitch but a strikeout and bounceout ended the threat.

College Football Roundup
Written by Associated Press   
Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:08 PM

Associated Press

Kent State at Ohio State noon start on Sept. 13

COLUMBUS — Kent State and Ohio State will kick off at noon on Sept. 13 at Ohio Stadium.

The game will be televised on ABC, ESPN or ESPN2, the Big Ten announced on Wednesday.

Eight of Ohio State's 2014 games now have a start time, including a record five night games: Aug. 30 vs. Navy, noon, at Baltimore's M&T Bank Stadium; Sept. 6, Virginia Tech, 8 p.m.; Sept. 13, Kent State, noon; Sept. 27, Cincinnati, 6 p.m.; Oct. 18, Rutgers, 3:30 p.m.; Oct. 25, at Penn State, 8 p.m.; Nov. 1, Illinois, 8 p.m.; Nov. 8, at Michigan State, 8 p.m.

The kickoff times and television networks for the Buckeyes' remaining four games will be determined later.