September 2, 2014

Subscriber Login

Local Roundup PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, October 11, 2012 12:07 PM

Beavers keep Anderson winless with 4-0 shutout of Ravens
ANDERSON, Ind. – The Bluffton University women’s soccer team dominated Anderson University 4-0 on Wednesday. The Beavers improved to 3-7-1 overall and 1-1-1 in the Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference, while Anderson fell to 0-13 and 0-4 in the Heartland Conference.
Freshman Laura Fish (Findlay/Liberty-Benton) got the Beavers on the scoreboard at the 15:12 mark.
She added to her team-best scoring total when she took a pass from Aimee Whitmer (Grand Rapids/Otsego) with six minutes to play in the opening stanza and capitalized for her seventh goal of the season.
The second half scoring mantle fell on Maddie Moore’s (Linn Grove, Ind./South Adams) shoulders. The senior captain found the back of the net at the 57:30 mark and followed that up eight minutes later for a 4-0 lead over the home squad. Junior Megan Moreo (Spencerville/Delphos Jefferson) delivered with the assist on goal number four.
Moore fired nine shots to lead the Beavers. Fish and Whitmer both chipped in with four shots. Bluffton finished with a 20-4 advantage in shots, including 9-1 on frame. The visitors were whistled for three more fouls (9-6) and fired the only two corner kicks in the match.
Bluffton will return to action on Saturday when the Beavers travel to Hanover College for a 2 p.m. meeting with the Panthers.

Anderson pitches 2-0 shutout of Beavers
ANDERSON, Ind. - An early goal put Anderson on top and a late tally sealed the Ravens’ 2-0 victory over the Bluffton University men’s soccer team on Wednesday. The Beavers slipped to 2-9 overall and 0-3 in the Heartland Conference, while AU improved to 6-9 and 2-2 in the HCAC.
Guimps Pierre took a feed from Kingsley Kantande just over four minutes into the contest, giving the home team a 1-0 lead that proved to be all AU would need.
Bluffton kept the Ravens from increasing that lead the rest of the half despite being outshot 12-2 during the first 45 minutes of action.
With time running down, Anderson capped the victory with a second goal in minute 89 for the 2-0 final. Todd Canal found Brad Rusche with a minute to play as the Ravens evened their mark in the HCAC at 2-2.
Anderson finished with a 22-6 advantage in shots and 9-3 on corner kicks. Ben Knotts (Carrollton) led the Beavers with two shots, while Jeff Yoder (Elkhart, Ind./Bethany Christian) collected six saves for the visitors.
Bluffton continues on the road when the Beavers travel to Hanover College on Saturday. The contest is slated for 4:30 p.m.

LMP/NRA Sprint Invaders holding Awards Banquet
LIMA — The 15th Annual Awards Banquet will be held October 20 at the University of Northwestern Ohio Event Center, located at 1450 North Cable Road, Lima.
Limaland Motorsports Park will be awarding the University of Northwestern Ohio Season Point Fund to the top 15 qualified season-point places in each division, NASCAR Point Fund, along with the 2012 Rookies of the Year, Sportsman of the Year and other special presentations.
The Engine Pro NRA Sprint Invaders presented by Victor Reinz will be recognizing the top 15 in season points as well as the Rookie of the Year, Hard Luck, Jimmy Johnston Good Guy and other special awards.
Banquet tickets are available at the 1000 building on the University of Northwestern Ohio campus. Banquet order forms are also available online at<>. Tickets will not be available at the door.

Season Champions:
Elwer Fence Sprints: Top 15: 1. Hud Horton 1,376, 2. Kyle Sauder 1,340, 3. Randy Hannagan 1,308, 4. Jared Horstman 1,266, 5. Max Stambaugh 1,242, 6. Ron Blair 1,212, 7. Tim Allison 1,202, 8. Beau Stewart 1,188, 9. Butch Schroeder 1,136, 10. Dennis Yoakam 1,096, 11. Dallas Hewitt 1,034, 12. Devon Dobie 1,004, 13. Bob Gehr 966, 14. Shawn Dancer 962, 15. Jarrod Delong 908.
K & N Modifieds: Top 15: 1. Todd Sherman 1,530, 2. Terry Hull 1,478, 3. Jake Reufer 1,474, 4. Kody Weisner 1,336, 5. Tony Anderson 1,330, 6. Casey Luedeke 1,282, 7. Tyler Stump 1,270, 8. Cory Seeling 1,264, 9. Chad Rosenbeck 1,222, 10. Ryan Odette 1,196, 11. Bill Keeler 1,158, 12. Derrick Noffsinger 1,154, 13. Andy Bibler 1,072, 14. Ryan Ordway 954, 15. Jerry Bowersock 812.
Bud Thunderstocks: Top 15: 1. Shawn Valenti 1,572, 2. Tony Anderson 1,526, 3. Chris Douglas 1,436, 4. Jeff Koz 1,426, 5. Billy Siferd 1,402, 6. Andy King 1,226, 7. Bryan Martin 1,222, 8. Randy Crossley 1,208, 9. Keith Shockency 1,192, 10. Frank Paladino 1,068, 11. Sam Bodine 840, 12. Justin Long 780, 13. Dwight Niehoff 760, 14. Joel Ortberg 696, 15. Zach Gustafson 606.
NRA Sprint Invaders: Top 15: 1. Randy Hannagan 1,554, 2. Kyle Sauder 1,514, 3. Hud Horton 1,408, 4. Ron Blair 1,388, 5. Beau Stewart 1,342, 6. Butch Schroeder 1,326, 7. Dennis Yoakam 1,284, 8. Jared Horstman 1,280, 9. Max Stambaugh 1,272, 10. Gregg Dalman 1,234, 11. Tim Allison 1,210, 12. Dallas Hewitt 1,142, 13. Todd Heuerman 1,020, 14. Shawn Dancer 1,000, 15. Darren Long 890.
Rookie of the Year: Elwer Fence Sprints – Devon Dobie; K & N Modifieds – Tyler Stump; Bud Thunderstocks – Bryan Martin; NRA Sprint Invaders – Devon Dobie.
Crew Chief of the Year: Elwer Fence Sprints – Ronnie French; K & N Modifieds – Braden Sherman; Bud Thunderstocks – Jeff Babcock Sr.


Add comment

Security code