September 2, 2014

Subscriber Login

From the Archives — June 4, 2014 PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, June 03, 2014 8:12 PM

One Year Ago

At a recent meeting of the Catholic Order of Foresters Court 76 of Landeck, Audrey Rieger, a senior at Ottoville High School, was presented a four-year college scholarship of $5,000. She plans to attend The University of Toledo, majoring in nursing. She is the daughter of Tim and Toni Rieger.



25 Years Ago – 1989


Three area high school students each received $1,000 scholarships from The Commercial Bank. Recipients are Kelly Dunlap, Jefferson High School, daughter of Harry and Patricia Dunlap; Gordon Bowman, Elida High School, son of Wilbur and Bonnie Bowman; and Sarah Rees, St. John’s High School, daughter of David and Ann Rees.

Veterans of Foreign Wars Auxiliary Post 3740, Ottoville, installed new officers at its recent meeting. President Ruth Grote presided at the meeting. Six members attended the district two conference at Lima: Thelma Minnig, Ruth Grote, Becky Perrin, Betty Wieman, Ethel Perrin and Debbie Griffith.

Kevin Wrasman and Duane Grothause were special award winners for St. John’s boys track team at an awards assembly and Elaine Erb and Nikki Wellmann took special honors for the girls team. Wrasman was recognized for most points scored. Grothause was runner-up in points. Erb was the points leader for the girls and Wellmann runner-up.


50 Years Ago – 1964

A Recreation Board is to be formed in Fort Jennings. The installation of lights for the Jennings ball park is to be the main objective of the board. At Tuesday night’s council meeting, Mayor Elmer Martin made three appointments. Tom Wieging, who has been instrumental in getting action started, was named by the mayor. Jack Schimmoeller and John Rellinger will also be asked to serve.

Delphos Kiwanis Club held its weekly dinner meeting Tuesday evening at the House of Vogts with vice president Ed. Clark presiding in the absence of the club president, Gene Hayes. Clark presented a membership pin to Reno Bianchi, who is the club’s newest member. Harold Brown was Clark’s guest at the meeting.

Past Chiefs Association of the Delphos Pythian Sisters held its annual picnic Tuesday evening at the home of Mrs. Kenneth Fronk on South Jefferson Street. After the dinner, a short business meeting was conducted. The meeting was then turned over to the hostesses, Mrs. Fronk, Mrs. Harvey Rice and Joyce Kiggins.


75 Years Ago – 1939

Mrs. Tony Van Autreve was the guest speaker Friday at a meeting of the Spencerville Auxiliary of the American Legion. She related her experiences in Belgium during the World War. Also present from Delphos were Mrs. Joseph Shirack, Mrs. Dale Miller, Mrs. Ferman Clinger, Mrs. Linus Schmelzer, Bertha Schmelzer, Mrs. Fred Langmeyer, Mrs. Med Granger, Mrs. Dell Cochensparger, Mrs. Martin Krendl, Mrs. Ralph Youngpeter, Anna Youngpeter, Mrs. Leonard Hesseling and Mrs. Leonard Weible.

In Delphos Recreation League play Friday night, Sheeter’s team defeated the Star Cafe at Waterworks Park by a score of 6 to 2. The line ups: Sheeters – Grewe, p; Wiechart, c; Huysman, 1b; Plescher, 2b; Clark, ss; Rahrig, 3b; Sendelbach, lf; Rekart, cf; Stallkamp, rf; Kemper, rs. Star – H. Ditto, p; Don Thithoff, c; Hageman, 1b; Holmes, 2b; R. Ditto, ss; Swick, 3b; C. Ditto, lf; Alguire, cf; Meekins, rs; Gengler, rf.

Mrs. Sam Dray was elected president of the Faith-Hope Class of the United Brethren Church at a meeting held Friday evening. Also elected were: Clyde Harpster, vice president; Mrs. Nick Bardo, secretary; Mrs. Frank Kriskamp, treasurer; and Mrs. Francis Scott, press correspondent. Rev. Wesley Mullenhour was named Sunday school teacher. The next meeting of the class will be July 7 at the home of Mr. and Mrs. Clyde Harpster.

Last Updated on Thursday, June 26, 2014 8:27 PM

Add comment

Security code