August 30, 2014

Subscriber Login

ArtSpace/Lima’s 59th Spring Show opens Friday PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, April 20, 2014 8:00 PM

Information submitted


LIMA — The ArtSpace/Lima Spring Show 2014 will open Friday with a public reception for the artists and their friends from 6:30-8:30 p.m. in the Ellen Nelson Gallery.

Spring Show 2014 is the 59th annual exhibit of that name at ArtSpace/Lima. Entries are accepted from within a 100-mile radius of Lima in the following categories: painting, drawing, printmaking, photography, ceramics, sculpture, textiles, digital art and mixed media. 51 area artists entered 137 pieces in those categories. Of those, 51 pieces were selected for exhibition in the show. An additional 22 works are on display in the Salon des Refuses in ArtZone.

Jurors for the Spring Show 2014 exhibit are: Dennis Wojtkiewicz, professor of art at Bowling Green State University, where he has taught since 1988. His work has been shown in international art fairs in Chicago, Los Angeles, Miami, Palm Beach, Santa Fe and Toronto. He is the recipient of two Ohio Arts Council Individual Fellowships and has both paintings and drawings represented in major public, private and corporate collections; and Carol Griffith, professor of fine art at the Columbus College of Art and Design, who has won top awards from the Ohio Arts Council, Butler Institute of American Art and the Ohio State Fair and whose work is in the collections of the Columbus Metropolitan Library, Huntington Bank building, Ashland University and Carnegie-Melon University.

A highlight of the opening reception will be the announcement and awarding of prizes, including Best of Show ($500), First Award, Second Award, Third Award, The Martha Farmer Award for Sculpture, Photography Club Award, Award for Ceramics, Award for Painting and “The People’s Choice Award” (chosen by polling guests in the course of the exhibit). The exhibit will also feature a Salon des refuses, mounted in the ArtZone Gallery, and consisting of work not originally juried into the show but re-juried into the Salon.

Awards will be presented at 7:15 p.m.


Add comment

Security code