September 2, 2014

Subscriber Login

Elida FFA holds annual banquet PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, March 12, 2014 8:00 PM

Information submitted


ELIDA — Elida FFA recently held its 60th annual parent-member banquet at the Old Barn Out Back.

President A.J. Siefker presented an honorary chapter degree to Mark Peters. Peters has done a lot for the agricultural science program through various chapter activities, which include providing soil judging sites to help train members for career development events and has also employed several ag business students.

The guest speaker for the event was Tim Dehaven, who shared some of his life experiences and spoke on life goals and how to handle hardships.

The Cooperative Education Team was recognized for placing fifth in the state contest. Team members were Sarah McCleary, Halle Strayer, Trent Long and Kyle Nichols.

Other awards given at the banquet included Co-Star Chapter Farmer Emily Siefker, Star Agri-business Person A.J. Siefker, Star Greenhand Tracey Long and Co-Star Chapter Farmer Riley Overholt.

Top fruit salesman were given cash awards. They included Emily Siefker, first place; Andrew Troyer, second; and Ben Strayer, third.

Students receiving soil judging awards included Brent Sevitz, Anastasia Bryant, Torey Carroll, Oliver Fessler, Jared Blymyer, Travis Watkins, Grace Martin and Vanessa Stolzenburg.

Allen County Fair awards were given to Casey Troyer, Clark Etzler, Travis Watkins and Sydney Sexton.

Travis Watkins and Jared Blymyer were recognized as 2014 State FFA Degree recipients at the banquet. They will receive their degrees in May at the State FFA Convention in Columbus.

Members recognized for placing in the top four in the State FFA 2013 Proficiency Awards include Zac Siefker for third place in Landscape Management and Josh Dawson for first place in Ag Sales and Service Proficiency.

Recognized for receiving their American Degrees at the 2013 National FFA Convention last fall were Adam Troyer, Casey Troyer, Zac Siefker and Josh Dawson.

Retiring officer plaques were given to the 2013-14 officer team. The officer team included A.J Siefker, Emily Siefker, Ashley Bartlett, Riley Overholt, Kyle Hambleton, Mitchel Kamine, Ali Skinner and Lindsey Seiberling.

The Agricultural Engineering Team was recognized for placing seventh in the state contest held this past fall at the Ohio State University Agricultural College. Team members were Hayley Wagner, Patrick Brockert, Travis Watkins and Clark Etzler.

The Outdoor Power team was recognized for placing second in the District 4 contest. Team members were Jared Blymyer, Patrick Brockert and Travis Watkins.

The Greenhand Quiz Team was recognized for placing third out of 110 schools at the 2014 Career Development Event. Team members were Olivia Morales, Caleb Newland, Jenna Foust and Tracey Long.

A.J. Siefker received awards for participating in the Extemporaneous Speaking and Job Interview Contest.

Olivia Morales, Tracey Long and Jenna Foust received awards for competing in the FFA Creed Contest.


Add comment

Security code