August 27, 2014

Subscriber Login

Michigan's Nik Stauskas Big Ten Player of Year PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, March 11, 2014 12:00 AM

ROSEMONT, Ill. (AP) — Michigan's Nik Stauskas is the Big Ten's Player of the Year.

Stauskas led the Big Ten with 13 games of 20 or more points.

Wolverines' head coach John Beilein was named by the media Coach of the Year, while Tim Miles of Nebraska gained the honor from his peers.

Beilein led the Wolverines (23-7) to their first outright Big Ten Championship since 1986. Under Miles, Nebraska (19-11) earned the No. 4 seed and a first-round bye in the Big Ten Men's Basketball Tournament.

In other honors, Indiana's Noah Vonleh was named Freshman of the Year by coaches and media. Ohio State's Aaron Craft was named Defensive Player of the Year and Wisconsin's Nigel Hayes was voted the Sixth Man of the Year by coaches.

Two Illinois basketball players earned Big Ten honors despite the team's struggles this season.

Freshman Kendrick Nunn was named Monday to the Big Ten All-Freshman Team and junior Rayvonte Rice is an honorable mention All-Big Ten choice.

Nunn was the Illini's third-leading scorer in conference play, averaging 8.6 points. Nunn shot 47.1 percent from the field and was sixth in the league in 3-point shooting at 43.9 percent.

Joining Nunn on the All-Freshman team are Indiana's Noah Vonley, Wisconsin's Nigel Hayes, Michigan's Derrick Walton and Purdue's Kendall Stephens.

Rice was the only player in the Big Ten to lead his team in points, rebounds and steals during the season. He is averaging 15.7 points, ranking eighth in the league in scoring. He had a career-high 29 points against Indiana.


Add comment

Security code