August 21, 2014

Subscriber Login

Horstman earns historic 3rd MAC girls POY PDF Print E-mail
Monday, February 17, 2014 9:00 PM

Information Submitted


New Knoxville 5-7 senior Haley Horstman was voted 2013-14 Midwest Athletic Conference Player of the Year in girls basketball by voting of the league’s coaches and became the first 3-time winner of the award in conference basketball history.

She was also first team all four years of her career (2010-11, 2011-12-POY, 2012-13-POY and 2013-14-POY).

Joining her on the first team are classmate/teammate Paige Lehman (5-10), a trio of Minster players — seniors Kayla Richard (5-6) and 5-7 Claire Fischer and 5-8 junior Logan Arnold; Versailles’ senior Katie Heckman (6-0) and 6-2 junior Christa Puthoff; Marion Local senior Brooke Winner (5-1) and 5-6 junior Allie Thobe; Coldwater 5-7 junior Sarah Kanney; Fort Recovery’s 5-10 junior Tori Lennartz and 5-8 St. Henry senior Ally Mikesell.

Jacki Stonebraker of Versailles was voted Coach of the Year.

On the second unit are St. John’s 5-11 sophomore Sydney Fischbach, a trio of Versailles Tigers — seniors Brooke Pothast (5-7) and Emily Harman (5-8) and 6-1 junior Lauren Bruns; the Marion Local duo of 5-11 junior Cadence Jacobs and 6-0 sophomore Emily Mescher; Parkway seniors Cami Hellwarth (5-10) and Sierra Fent (5-11); Coldwater junior Lauren Leugers (5-9), 5-6 Fort Recovery junior Kara Jutte, New Bremen 5-8 freshman Rosie Westerbeck, 5-10 New Knoxville junior Meg Reineke and St. Henry 5-6 senior Taylor Koesters.

On the honorable-mention list are:

St. John’s: Jessica Geise (5-9 freshman);

Coldwater: Joelle Hemmelgarn (5-7 senior) and Denise Schwieterman (6-2 sophomore);

Fort Recovery: Caley Schoenherr (5-4 junior) and Kendra Siefring (6-1 sophomore);

Marion Local: Lexi Wilker (5-4 junior);

Minster: Alexis Wuebker (5-8 junior);

New Bremen: Debbie Paul (5-8 sophomore);

New Knoxville: Kalyn Schroer (5-4 junior);

Parkway: Raegan Bransteter (5-7 senior);

St. Henry: Olivia Stahl (5-10 junior);

Versailles: Rachel Kremer (5-7 senior).

Final 2013-14 MAC Standings: 1. Versailles 9 0; 2. Minster 8 1; 3. New Knoxville 7 2; 4. Marion Local 6 3; 5. Coldwater 5 4; 6. St. John’s and St. Henry 3 6; 8. New Bremen 2 7; 9. Fort Recovery and Parkway 1 8.


Add comment

Security code