August 21, 2014

Subscriber Login

From the Archives Jan. 28, 2014 PDF Print E-mail
Monday, January 27, 2014 9:00 PM

One Year Ago

Eight young ladies will vie for the title Queen Jubilee XXXVIII on April 5 at the Marsh Auditorium. The contestants are Courtney Gorman of Lincolnview High School, Alexis Ford of Parkway, Corinne Metzger of Delphos Jefferson, Savannah Roughton of Paulding High School, Chelsea Critchfield of Wayne Trace, Jordan Rex of Spencerville High School, Karissa Place of Van Wert High School and Kate Bauer of Crestview.


25 Years Ago – 1989

The PTO variety show will be “Mouse Country” presented by Landeck Elementary School students. Leads include Country, played by Eric Mueller; Madelinne, played by Sheila Wannemacher; Corrine, played by Melany Pohlman; and Dan, played by Ryan Wurst. The variety show will be presented at 6 p.m. Saturday.

The Jefferson Lady Wildcats, taking advantage of a powerful first period Thursday evening, went on to beat Northwest Conference counterpart Ada 61-51 at Jefferson High School to raise their overall record to 12-3 and their league mark to 7-1. The Wildcats were led by Kortokrax’s 23 points. Kim Carmean chipped in with 14 and Stephanie McClure added nine points.

St. John’s eighth grade girls defeated Elida 31-17 at Elida. A strong Elida team made things tough the first half as the Blue Jays led 9-7 at halftime. Pressure defense in the third quarter took its toll as the Jays outscored the Bulldogs 9-2. More of the same in the fourth quarter sealed the victory. Jenny Altenburger led St. John’s with 16 points followed by Julie Brinkman with eight and Amie Bensman with six.


50 Years Ago – 1964

There were 51 members of the Fraternal Order of Eagles Auxiliary present at Monday night’s meeting held in the Eagles club rooms. Reports were given by the treasurer Helen Vance, secretary; Dolores Hoffman, chairman of trustees, Edna Kortokrax, and the Memorial Foundation chairman, Margaret Krugh.

Lucile Werner was re-elected president of The Tourists at a dinner meeting held Monday evening. Other officers elected were first vice president, Mabel Rogers; second vice president, Henrietta Eysenbach; secretary, Mrs. Lowell Shaffer; and treasurer, Ethel Hart. The remainder of the evening was spent socially with bridge being played. High honors went to Werner, Ethel Edwards and Ethel Beiler.

Representatives of Hagan Manufacturing Company showed cub scouts and advisers through the plant. Among the scouts touring the plant were Dave Rabe, Pat Lewis, Mike Hill, Gary Ricker, Steve Placke, Bob Pohlman, and advisers Mrs. Julian Placke, Mrs. Ray Pohlman and Joe Odenweller.


75 Years Ago – 1939

Final plans will be made for the annual ‘coon feed when members of the Old Time Coon Hunters of Delphos meet Sunday afternoon in regular session at Fanger’s Mayflower. The ‘coon banquet will be held on Feb. 2 at Fanger’s. Don G. Walters, new appointed Ohio Conservation commissioner, and Ralph W. Sandborn, president of the League of Ohio Sportsmen, have promised to be in attendance, if possible.

It’s the “WILDCATS” who will go into battle for the Jefferson athletic teams in the future, so the students of the local junior high decided Thursday afternoon by ballot for one of four suggestions (Ambassadors, Red Streaks, Wildcats, Commanders) or add a choice of another name. It was the general opinion of the student body that Jefferson, long without an athletic name, should do something about the situation.

The members of the C. K. of A. held a social in the K. of C. rooms Thursday evening. Five-hundred was played and at the conclusion of the games, Elizabeth Wahmhoff was high and Mrs. Frank Klaus, second. The committee in charge served refreshments. The next monthly session is scheduled for Feb. 16.



Add comment

Security code