April 16, 2014

Subscriber Login

Special Olympian swimmers fare well at district event PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, December 01, 2013 9:00 PM

Information submitted


On the second Sunday in November, the Van Wert County Special Olympics swim team traveled to Ottawa for the Area 3 Aquatics meet.


Bringing home the gold in the 25-meter freestyle were Carolyn Hartmann, Michele Lichtle, Brandon Painter and Brittany Lichtenberger; silver went to Jeff Dietsch, Michelle Mollenkopf, Kirk Pontius and Jennifer Dotson; and bronze to Jason Benner, Jeannie Miller and Sharon Mosier; and Jill Krugh receiving a fourth-place ribbon.


In the 25-meter backstroke, gold went to Jill Krugh, Brittany Lichtenberger, Jeannie Miller, Michelle Mollenkopf and Brandon Painter; silver medals were won by Jason Benner, Carolyn Hartmann and Michele Lichtle; and fourth0place ribbons going to Jennifer Dotson and Sharon Mosier. Kirk Pontius received gold for the 25-meter breaststroke with silver going to Jeff Dietsch for the 50-meter backstroke.

The ladies 4 x 25 relay team consisting of Jeannie Miller, Michelle Mollenkopf, Carolyn Hartmann and Brittany Lichtenberger received silver medals. The men’s 4 x 25 relay team made up of Jason Benner, Jeff Dietsch, Brandon Painter and Kirk Pontius brought home the bronze.

The athletes and coaches would like to thank the Van Wert County Foundation, the local Moose Lodge and other private donors for supporting this very special athletic organization. Your kindness and generosity are greatly appreciated

Last Updated on Sunday, December 01, 2013 7:50 PM

Add comment

Security code