August 22, 2014

Subscriber Login

Principal shares safety innovation PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, November 20, 2013 9:07 PM


Herald Editor

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


DELPHOS — An Ottoville teacher’s ingenuity will serve to make students safer in his district. Jim Brown fashioned wooden braces for classroom doors that slide over the door handle with 2-x-4’s on both sides to hug the door frame to prevent it from being opened from the outside by an intruder.

High School Principal Jon Thorbahn demonstrated the device for the school board Wednesday evening. The device was tested during a recent lockout drill at the school.

“This is a simple idea that works really well,” Thorbahn said. “We will test it again over Thanksgiving break and really try to get the door open. That way we have some time to fix the door if anything happens.”

Superintendent Scott Mangas said he received the final quotes for key-card entry and camera/speaker systems for the two main entrances to the school.

“The estimates from Indiana Hardware came in less than the $10,000 grant,” Mangas said. “We’ll have those installed as soon as possible. We also have the new MARCS radios for the buses and they are being programmed and we’ll get the training done.”

The radios will allow for contact between bus drivers and the school in the event the power goes out and the phones go down and if cell phone reception is interrupted. It is also a direct line to the Putnam County Sheriff’s Office.

The board approved a resolution authorizing Ottoville Local Schools to participate in the State of Ohio Cooperative Purchasing Program. Mangas said the district is looking at purchasing a Gator from John Deere, who is a member of the cooperative.

“If we join the cooperative for $100, we can get $1,500-$1,700 off the Gator,” Mangas said. “That’s a pretty good return on $100.”

Ottoville Superintendent Scott Mangas, left, presents outgoing board of education member Craig Byrne with a wooden bell to commemorate his service to the board. Byrne’s replacement is Marilyn Calvelage.Before the close of the meeting, Mangas presented outgoing school board member Craig Byrne with a wooden bell commemorating his service to the board.

“Craig was really the thrust behind our outdoor lab and that is doing very well and is an asset to the district,” Mangas said.

Byrne served four years on the board. His replacement is Marilyn Calvelage.

In the High School Report, Thorbahn announced parent/teachers conferences will take place Monday evening and all day Tuesday.

Thorbahn also announced the student council-run Toys for Tots drive will get underway once students return from Thanksgiving break.

The school will host a Community Blood Drive from noon to 6 p.m. on Dec. 27.

Student-athletes were commended for their post-season honors. In girls soccer, Monica Sarka was named First-Team PCL; Alena Horstman and Courtney Von Sossan, Second Team; and Danielle Trenkmap, Lexi Wannemacher and Carly Kortokrax, Honorable Mention. Scholar-Athletes are Horstman and Trenkamp. In district honors, Sarka was second team; and Horstman and Von Sossan were Honorable Mention.

In boys soccer, Colin Bendele was First-Team PCL; Lucas Maag, Austin Honigford and Joel Beining was Second Team; and Alex Horstman, Joe VanOss and Jared Fanning were Honorable Mention. Horstman was also a Scholar Athlete. In district soccer, Bendele was Second Team.

In volleyball, Annie Lindeman was First-Team PCL; Taylor Mangas was Second Team; and Nikki Burgei and Kara Schimmoeller were Honorable Mention. In district honors, Lindeman was Honorable Mention. Scholar Athletes were Schimmoeller, Burgei, Mangas, Kelsi Miller and Tonya Kauffman.

In golf, Wesley Markward was Second Team PCL and District Honorable Mention. Luke Schimmoeller was District Honorable Mention and Scholar Athlete.

In other business, the board:

• Approved Vaughn Horstman and Susan Jones as volunteer indoor track coaches. Currently, there are no students signed up for indoor track;

• Accepted the resignation of Kirt Martz as varsity girls volleyball coach;

• Accept the resignation of Terry Byrne as junior varsity boys basketball coach;

• Approve non-certified supplemental contracts to Darrell Von Sossan as assistant varsity basketball coach and Adam Koester as junior varsity boys basketball coach;

• Appointed Kevin Landin as president pro-tem for the January Organizational Meeting; and

• Set the Organizational Meeting for 7:30 p.m. Jan. 8.

Last Updated on Wednesday, November 20, 2013 9:09 PM

Add comment

Security code