August 21, 2014

Subscriber Login

Optimists hold 25th anniversary celebration PDF Print E-mail
Monday, September 30, 2013 12:00 AM


Herald Editor

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


DELPHOS — Sunday evening was one of celebration and optimism for the Delphos Optimists. Dozens of members, special guests and honorees gathered at the Delphos Museum of Postal History to celebrate the club’s milestone of 25 years and give awards to members and others in the community.

“Firefighter of the Year” was given to Lee Ulm, captain of the C squad of Delphos Fire and Rescue. Ulm has served as a firefighter for 38 years.

“EMT of the Year” was awarded to John Wade, who has marked 26 years of service, 20 as a paramedic. Honorable Mention was given to Paramedic Cory Meyer.

Incoming Optimist President Jay Metzner, right, received the “Optimist of the Year” award Sunday from Delphos member and Lt. Gov. Harry Flanagan. (Delphos Herald/Nancy Spencer) “Law Enforcement Officer of the Year” was presented to Ben Becker. Becker was recently promoted to sergeant after serving four years on the West Central Ohio Crime Task Force as a narcotics investigator. He is responsible for the arrests of 57 people on more than 160 felony drug-related charges from 2010-13.

Read more about these award recipients in Wednesday’s Herald.

Doris Dickman was given the Life Member Award by her grandson and member Michael Friedrich. Dickman served as the club’s secretary/treasurer from 2002-12.Optimist award winners included “Optimist of the Year” Jay Metzner, “President’s Citation” winner Kevin Wieging and “Life Member Award” recipient Doris Dickman.

The first 2013-14 “Student of the Month” was Jefferson senior Kenidi Ulm. Principal John Edinger praised Ulm as one of the best students Jefferson has to offer and thanked the Optimist Club for its recognition of outstanding students.

The club’s new crop of officers were sworn in, including President Metzner, Vice President Wieging, Secretary/Treasurer Keith Kramer, Sergeant of Arms Bob Beat and Lt. Governor Zone 9 Harry Flanagan. The board of directors includes Dickman, Flanagan, Maggie Wannemacher and Marilyn Hoffman.

The club currently boasts 52 members and meets at 7:30 a.m. Fridays at Mary’s A&W in Delphos.


Add comment

Security code