September 1, 2014

Subscriber Login

Tri-county voters to focus on issues PDF Print E-mail
Friday, September 06, 2013 12:00 AM


Herald Editor

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Tri-county voters will see few contested races on the Nov. 5 General Ballot. Instead, they will concentrate on issues.

Topping the list is a .25-percent income tax increase for Delphos residents. If passed, the measure will generate approximately $400,000 to help minimize a more than $860,000 loss in the city’s Water and Sewer funds that will be left by the closure of Reser’s Fine Foods this month.

The city also lost $400,000 in utility fees when Chef Solutions filed bankruptcy in 2013 and $60,000 in income revenue when I&K Distributions was sold to Lipari Food. The city has also seen reductions in Local Governments Funds from the state. The city received $240,000 in LGF in 2008 and in 2013, received only $79,000. The elimination of the Inheritance Tax cost the city $70,000 in funds.

In county-wide issues, Allen County Senior Citizens Services has placed a .30-mill, 5-year replacement levy on the ballot to maintain services to senior citizens, including those who use the Delphos Senior Citizen Center; Mental Health and Recovery Services is asking for an additional 1-mill, 5-year tax levy for current operating expenses; and Putnam County voters will decide on an additional tax levy of 0.65 mills for CPT for emergency medical services.

In Allen County, Spencerville voters will cast ballots on a .25-percent additional Income Tax Levy for police services. In Van Wert County, Middle Point Village voters will decide on a 4.9-mill, 25-year bond issue for a new fire station. In Putnam County, Ottoville Villagers will see a 1.95-mill, 5-year renewal tax levy of for roads; Cloverdale Village is asking for a 2.3 mill, 4-year replacement tax levy for current expenses; Jennings Township will seek an additional tax levy of 0.85 mills for five years for fire protection; Monterey Township is asking for a 1-mill, 5-year replacement tax levy for roads; and Union Township will seek an additional 0.5-mill tax levy for a CPT for fire protection and EMS.

In school issues, Elida Local Schools will ask for an additional 5.45-mill, 5-year emergency-requirements levy and Lincolnview will seek a 2.5-mill, 5-year renewal for permanent improvements, including building improvements, replacement of windows, wiring, roofs, boilers, the purchase of buses and other improvements.

In Allen County city and village council races, Delphos City Council will see three new members with two elected in November and one appointed by council during the first months of 2014. Andrew Knueve is unopposed for 1st Ward, as are Del Kemper for 3rd Ward and incumbent Mark Clement for 4th Ward. Robert Mosier will remain city treasurer.

The 2nd Ward seat currently held by Jim Fortener is open. Fortener’s petition to be placed on the ballot was not certified by the Allen County Board of Elections due to a discrepancy in his paperwork.

All four Elida Village Council candidates are unopposed and include: Kim Hardy, Rhonda McCoy, Christina McNamara and Claude Paxton.

Three of four Spencerville Village Council seats will be filled in November. Write-in candidates Phillip Briggs, John Medaugh and John Miller will join council. A fourth seat will be filled in 2014 by appointment.

In Putnam County, Fort Jennings will fill three of four empty seats with incumbents Grace Dickman, Walter Pitney and current Village Council President Randy Wieging. A fourth seat will be filled by appointment next year.

Cloverdale and Ottoville village councils will also need to appoint a fourth council member after unopposed Milton Parsons, Nora Parsons and Nichole Spencer take their seats in Cloverdale in January and Carl Byrne, Karen Hoersten and Jerry Markward are elected in Ottoville.

Kalida Village voters will see Jason Birkemeier, Jon Edelbrock, Sandy Fortman and Richard Schulte up for the four open council seats.

In Van Wert County, four open Venedocia Village Council seats will be decided amongst Thomas Emery, Matt Eutsler, Sarah Kimmet, Lee Lare, Gloria Leiter, Paul Price and Kirma Rowlett.

The four Middle Point Village Council seats up for election will be filled by Brenda Mengerink, Lisa Merkle, Scott Redding and William Brian Van Cleave, who are unopposed.

In school board races, Delphos City Schools Board of Education will see three new members in January. Perry Wiltsie, John Klausing and appointed board member George Mox will all vacate their seats. Write-in candidates are Brent Gable, Andy North and Erica Pimpas.

Elida Local Schools District voters will decide on one board of education member amongst Jason Bowers, Jeff Christoff, Dennis Fricke, Jonathon Nichols and Christine Ulrich. Pat Schymanski is unopposed to fill the unexpired seat of Brad Settlage, who resigned in July for medical reasons.

Ballot casters in Spencerville School District will fill three open seats with unopposed Spencer Clum, Penny Kill and Ronald Meyer.

In township trustee voting, nothing will change in Marion Township with incumbent Trustees Howard Violet and Joe Youngpeter unopposed, as well as Fiscal Officer Robert Kimmet.

Washington Township voters will choose from Larry Hoersten, Thomas Odenweller, Bob Trentman and Joe Wittler for two trustee seats.

Jennings and Monterey townships trustees races are uncontested with Dave Gasser and David Wieging in Jennings and Rodney Beining and Steve Hilvers in Monterey.

Union Township voters will fill two seats from candidates Daniel Ellerbrock, Mark Kahle and Gery Wurth.


Add comment

Security code