September 2, 2014

Subscriber Login

Vantage hosts awards ceremony PDF Print E-mail
Friday, June 07, 2013 12:13 AM

Information submitted


Awards of Distinction and scholarships highlighted the annual Senior Awards Assembly held at Vantage on May 29. A packed house, including home school representatives, family and friends joined together at this event to recognize the achievements and accomplishments of senior students enrolled in Vantage career technical programs.

Juniors put the new technology to use as they watched the assembly via “live streaming” from their classrooms.

Student speakers for this year’s assembly were Mikayla Stetler (Parkway) and Eric Durre (Wayne Trace).

Each year, career technical teachers select outstanding students to receive an “Award of Distinction.” To be eligible for this award, a student must demonstrate leadership qualities at school, have outstanding achievement in their program area, show exceptional skills in the subject area, participate as an active member of a school career technical club and demonstrate cooperation, initiative and responsibility.

This year’s “Award of Distinction” winners are: Cora Finfrock (Culinary Arts), Josh Dempsey (Auto Body), Nick Dealey (Ag & Industrial Power Technology), Tressa Ringwald (Interactive Media), Caleb Blankemeyer (Precision Machining), Alexandria Strickland (Carpentry), Lucas Manns (Welding), Matt Burgei (Industrial Mechanics), MacKenzie Hanenkratt (Medical Office Management), Eryn Watson and Samantha Stose (Health Technology) and Destiny Hines (Cosmetology)

Scholarship recipients were also recognized at the assembly. The Robert C. Stevens Scholarships were awarded to Nick Dealey (Crestview), Tressa Ringwald (Lincolnview) and Caleb Blankemeyer (Lincolnview).

The Joshua Ralston Memorial Scholarship was established in 2003 in memory of Josh Ralston, a Vantage Ag Diesel student from Parkway. Ralston’s father, Scott Ralston, presented this scholarship to Nick Dealey (Crestview).

The Robert Brandt Scholarship was established in 2011 in memory of Bob Brandt, the very first Vantage superintendent, who stayed at the helm of the school for 27 years. This year’s scholarship recipient was Nick Dealey. Ms. Staci Kaufman, Vantage Superintendent and Mrs. Lisa McClure, Executive Director of the Paulding Area Foundation, presented the scholarship.

The Van Wert Rotary Club provides an annual scholarship to students at all county schools. Rotarian Dave Roach presented the scholarship to Nick Dealey. All student scholarship recipients were recognized at the Awards Assembly.

This year, Vantage students received more than $75,000 in scholarships to continue their education.

Also honored were national BPA contestants, state skill contestants, National Technical Honor Society members, award of merit winners, students receiving academic awards, students with perfect attendance and student ambassadors and Girls and Boys State delegates.


Add comment

Security code