September 2, 2014

Subscriber Login

75 to receive diplomas at St. John’s High School Sunday PDF Print E-mail
Friday, May 24, 2013 11:45 PM

Information submitted


DELPHOS —St. John’s High School officials will hand out 75 diplomas at commencement ceremonies at 3 p.m. Sunday in the Robert A. Arnzen Gymnasium. A celebratory Mass will begin at 1:45 p.m. at St. John the Evangelist Catholic Church.

Valedictorians include Jessica Recker, Katie Vorst and Tricia Warnecke.

Recker of the daughter of Frederick and Teresa Recker. She plans to attend Ball State University, majoring in finance and accounting.

She was active in National Honor Society (co-Torch editor), Mission Society, “Through the Halls” radio show, Student Council, pep band, concert band, marching band, the school musical, Students Against Destructive Decisions (treasurer, secretary and Sgt. at Arms), Junior Optimists, Allen County Youth Leadership, golf, soccer, basketball and Liturgy Team (vice-president and SHINE Group leader).

Her other activities include: Mass server, church cantor, church greeter, CRESPI Society, youth choir, St. John’s Church Fall Festival, volunteer concession worker at track meets, Delphos Public Library’s Summer Reading Program, Stadium Park volunteer, junior service at Vancrest Healthcare Center, K of C Girls Basketball Skills, Youth Soccer Skills Camp, Community Blood Drive volunteer, maintenance worker during the summer at school and K of C Hall waitress for weddings.

Vorst is the daughter of Chris and Sandy Vorst. She plans to attend the University of Findlay, majoring in pre-veterinary medicine, with plans to attend The Ohio State University to obtain a graduate degree in doctor of veterinary medicine.

She was active in varsity basketball, National Honor Society (vice-president), Student Council (vice-president) and Junior Optimists (vice-president).

Her other activities include being a 10-year member of Venedocia Lads and Lassies 4-H Club (president) and the Van Wert County Junior Fair Board.

Warnecke is the daughter of Steve and Amy Warnecke. She plans to attend the University of St. Francis, pursuing a degree in biology and physician assistant studies.

She was active in National Honor Society, Student Council (Sgt. at Arms), Liturgy Team (chairman of the board) and Junior Optimists (treasurer and secretary).

Her other activities include: Eucharistic Minister and Mass greeter.

The Bishop’s Gold Cross Award was given to Calvin Vonderwell this year. He is the son of Dave and Sue Vonderwell. He plans to attend Ohio Northern University, majoring in music education, specializing in vocal and instrumental music.

He was active in pep band, marching band, concert band, youth choir, the spring musical, Seeking God (leader/founder), Solo and Ensemble, national Honor Society, SADD, Liturgy Team and “Through the Halls” radio show.

He was also active in church as a cantor, lector, sound technician, Eucharistic Minister and Mass server; and with vocal and piano lessons.

Honors diploma recipients include: Cole Fischbach, Alyssa Gable, Curtis Geise, Brendan Gaimbronu-Fuge, Stephanie Honigford, Aaron Miller, Kelsey Pohlman, Teresa Pohlman, Jessica Recker, Todd Rode, Katie Vorst and Tricia Warnecke.

The class flower is the white rose; class colors are navy and silver; and the class motto is: “As an individual we may be strong, but as a team we are invincible.”

The St. John’s High School class of 2013 includes: Isaac Altenburger, Ryan Baldauf, Aaron Beck, Seth Bockey, Mark Boggs, Brock Bonifas, Bailie Hulihan, Ryan Buescher, William Buettner, Christie Carder, Clay Courtney, Amber Cross, Aaron Deffenbaugh, Sierra Ditto, Katrina Etzkorn, Alyssa Faurot, Cole Fischbach, Rachael Fisher, Sean Flanagan, Jesse Freund, Alyssa Gable, Curtis Geise, Brendan Giambruno-Fuge, Andrew Grothouse, Rylee Hamilton, Jake Hays, Michelle Hitchcock, Kimberly Hoffman, Stephanie Honigford, Emily Horstman, Nicholas Kayser, Craig Klausing, Kaitlyn Klausing, Jared Knebel, Brittany Kramer, Ashley Kroeger, Katie Luersman, Megan Martin, Mallory Metcalfe, Andrew Metzger, Aaron Miller, Ally Mohler, Morgan Musser, Kylla Myers, Dalton Nagel, Abigail Parsons, Miranda Perrine, Kelsey Pohlman, Nathan Pohlman, Teresa Pohlman, Jessica Recker, Todd Rode, Robert Ruda III, Cassandra Schnipke, Brett Schwinnen, Morgan Shobe, Samantha Stose, Dylan Stump, Justin Thornton, Lauren Utrup, Heather Vogt, Calvin Vonderwell, Katie Vorst, Drew Wagner, Lindsey Wannemacher, Tricia Warnecke, Troy Warnecke, Curtis White, Kody White, Austin Wolke, Luke Wrasman, Tricia Wrasman, Allison Youngpeter, Benjamin Youngpeter and Madison Zuber.




Add comment

Security code