August 27, 2014

Subscriber Login

It was news then PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, April 30, 2013 1:06 PM

One Year Ago


Jefferson FCCLA members recently participated in the Ohio FCCLA State Leadership meeting in Columbus. Zoey Porter and Tori Schleeter received a gold star rating for their National Programs Project, “Breaking Family obstacles with Ronald McDonald House.” They have qualified to compete at the FCCLA National Conference.


25 Years Ago – 1988


The 1987-88 bowling season is quickly coming to a close and the annual year-end house leagues tournament was held recently at Delphos Recreation Center. In the women’s division the Nobodies captured the championship with a 3097 handicap score. Team members are Deb Wiechart, Sherri Etzkorn, Nancy Schimmoeller, Carol Craig and Lisa Van Metre. In the men’s division, Clyde Evans Markets won the championship with a 3293 handicap score. Team members are Rod Wagner, Dan Jettinghoff, Randy Fischbach, Tim Martin and Robert Reese.

St. John’s beat No. 12-ranked Ottoville Thursday afternoon and will get another strong test Friday against No. 3-ranked Parkway in a Midwest Athletic Conference game. The Blue Jays rapped out 13 hits, including home runs by Randy Mueller and Scott Schulte, en route to an 8-4 in at Stadium Park.

Senior Dave Kortokrax, captain of the University of Toledo golf team, was named Mid-American Conference golfer of the week (April 18-24) after firing a 2-under 142 to win the Firestone Invitational in Akron. Heading into the MAC Invitational beginning GFriday, Kortokrax, an Ottoville High School graduate, has compiled a 78.1 stroke average after 12 rounds this season to lead the team.


50 Years Ago – 1963


Afred Fetzer was installed as president of Dad’s Post, No. 201, Sunday afternoon during ceremonies held in the Veterans of Foreign Wars club rooms on West Fourth Street. Other officers installed were:  John Miller, senior vice president; Ray Baumgarte, junior vice president; L. A. Etter, secretary-treasurer; Hipolito Vasquez, adjutant; Homer Sterling, chaplain; William Grunden, sergeant-at-arms; three-year trustee, Herbert Fetzer; two-year trustee, Max Roberts, and one-year trustee, Oscar Ireland.

Michael Van Schoyek was elected to the highest office at St. John’s High School recently, that of Mission president. Mary Ann Kundert was named Mission vice president. Robert Wegesin was elected Student Council president and Marilyn Scherger Council vice present. All are members of this year’s junior class and will assume their posts next fall as seniors.

Members of the Do-Pass-O’s Western Square Dance club, in announcing a dance for all Western square dancers, to be held May 4, in the K of P Hall, also announced the names of new officers elected at the last dance. New officers are:  Mr. and Mrs. Ollie Sever, presidents; Mr. and Mrs. Elmer Looser, vice presidents; and Mr. and Mrs. Kenneth Schimmoeller, secretary-treasurers.


75 Years Ago – 1938


A group of Jefferson musical students are in Bowling Green participating in the annual Northwestern district solo and ensemble contest. Those who went to Bowling Green are Mary Alice Fethers, accompanist Helen Fettig; Mary Jane Meads, accompanist, Billie Jean Apger; Jim Buchholtz, accompanist, Billie Jean Apger; Jim Deffenbaugh, accompanist, Alma Sanders; Don Weideman, accompanist, Betty Dell Curry; Ruth Shroyer, accompanist, Helen Fettig; and Lois Long, accompanist, Alma Sanders.

Mrs. J. Howard Apger, North Maple Street, entertained the members of the 1908 Club and two guests, Mrs. J. Clement Berry and Mrs. W. C. Ruby, at her home Thursday evening. There were three entertaining contests. Honors in the contests were awarded Mrs. Earl Scott, Mrs. Berry, Mrs. G. F. Kauffman and Mrs. Arthur Moon.

Members of Commemorative Post, American Legion, met Thursday night in regular session at their rooms. Final plans were made for the public dance which will be held at St. John’s auditorium Wednesday night. The proceeds of the dance will be used to send Adam Metzger, oldest Civil War veteran in Delphos, to the 75th anniversary celebration of the Battle of Gettysburg.


Add comment

Security code