September 2, 2014

Subscriber Login

Van Wert County 4-H holds Senior, Volunteer and Donor Recognition banquet PDF Print E-mail
Monday, April 15, 2013 1:52 PM

Information submitted

The 2013 4-H Senior, Volunteer and Donor Recognition Banquet was held on April 6. The banquet theme was “4-H Memories Last a Lifetime.” The planning committee was comprised of Vickie Ingman, Kim Brandt, Brenda DeLong, Vickie Marbaugh, Lionel Enyart, Carrie Jellison, Jill McCoy and Robin Farris.

Seniors presented their own unique reflections on their experiences as 4-H members. Maggie Allmandinger spoke about the influence that her projects and involvement have had on her own development and how that will make the transition to college easier. Daniel Thompson performed a beautiful musical piece on the trombone and Caleb Markward gave his own rendition of the 4-H pledge and how the support of the advisors make 4-H a great experiences.

4-H Alumni Colby Boroff Kuhn was the featured speaker of the evening. She spoke about her own fond memories of 4-H and how they prepared her for the many exciting challenges and opportunities she has had in college and her adult career.

The 4-H program is possible through the dedication and hard work of around 100 volunteers. Active volunteers in the program range from months of experience to almost 50 years.

This year recognized for their service years were; Liz Gerdeman (10 years), Lisa Line (10 years), Ginny Marbaugh (10 years), Sue Hempfling (15 years), Donna Pohlman (15 years), Ruth Lape (20 years), Susan Mosier (20 years), Rita Adam (35 years), Judy Wortman (37 years), Carl Lape (41 years), Mary Ann Salway (43 years) and Carrie Jellison (47 years).

The 2013 Richard Jellison Advisor award was presented to Ohio City Blue Ribbon Workers advisor and 4-H Council member Brenda Delong. She has volunteered with the program for 12 years and has given countless hours of dedication to her club and to the county program.

The 4-H Enrichment Fund donors for 2013 were also recognized at the banquet. Gold Clover donors were Central Mutual Insurance and Cooper Farms. Silver Clover donors were P&R Home IV Service and Ayers Mechanical Group. Bronze donors were; Heffelfinger Farms, Charles and Vickie Ingman, Charles and Linda Matthew, Terry and Patricia Offerle, Wareen and Marilyn Reed, Stan and Marcia Weldy, Larry and Gloria Wendel, Advanced Biological Marketing, Farmers Grain and Ag, LLC, Kennedy Kuhn, State Wide Ford, The R.L. Adam Family, Van Wert Service Club, and E.A. Vorst, Inc. Other contributors include; James and Diane Arn, C.W. and Cindy Harting ll, Nancy Johnson, Deb and Steve Knapke, Ken and Marie Markward, William and Pauline Weldy, Farm Credit Services of Delphos, Don and Susan Mosier, Denny and Jill McCoy and Earl and Dorris Gerdeman. Without the support of these donors and their contributions the Endowment fund would not be able to support the scholarships, and community service projects of the 4-H clubs in Van Wert County. The Endowment Board members are Robin Farris, Kendra Heffelfinger, Marilyn Jones, Dennis Miller, Sara Lape and T. Jay Gamble.

Senior scholarships in the amount of $250 dollars were awarded to Daniel Thompson, Caleb Markward, Matt Oechsle, Adam Schumm, Grace Mitchener, Maggie Allmandinger, Amanda Lobsiger and Katie Vorst. The scholarships are awarded through the Van Wert Enrichment fund interest income from the invested dollars through the Van Wert County Foundation.


Add comment

Security code