September 1, 2014

Subscriber Login

It was News Then PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, March 06, 2013 1:45 PM

One Year Ago
• Administrators and school board members breathed a sigh of relief at the passage of the 5.5-mill Current Operating Expenses Levy renewal during Tuesday’s Primary Election. The measure was first approved in 1982 and generates approximately $600,000 a year, according to the Allen County Auditor.

25 Years Ago — 1988
• Catholic Ladies of Columbia met at the Knights of Columbus hall. Names of convention delegates were chosen. Dorothy Osting, Bertha Schmelzer, Gertie Patton, and Mary Topp are delegates. Alternates are Florence Trentman and Agnes Knebel. Attendance awards went to Viola Elwer and Catherine Metzger. Fifty-fifty winners were Martha Ardner, Edna Kortokrax and Agnes Knebel.

• St. John’s, a team that had been taken out of its running style of play during an all-Antwerp first looked as if it was on its way to a season-ending loss in the finals of the Van Wert division IV boys sectional tournament. However, the Jays rallied from a 13-point fourth-quarter deficit and won the contest 60-58 in the final four seconds on a layup by Curt Mager.

• The Catholic Daughters of the Americas will work on a mission project at the Knights of Columbus Hall. They will make bandages and hospital gowns. Soap, washcloths, toothpaste, toothbrushes, notebooks and trinkets will be accepted for the friendship bags. Chairpersons are Margaret Geise and Marge Burger. They will be assisted by Carol Hohman, Judith Alexander, Ruth Pohlman, Thelma Alexander, Hildegarde Bensman and Doris Lindeman.

50 Years Ago — 1963
• Both Oliver Lundgren of Kaufman Studio and John R. Hoverman of Hoverman Studio were among the award winners at the annual state convention of Professional Photographers of Ohio, Inc. Lundgren received first place in the scientific photography division and honorable mention in photographs of animals division. Hoverman received honorable mention in bride portraiture.

• Arrangements for their participation in the ensuing meeting of Jaycee District 13 were made at the Jay-C-Dels meeting held in the clubrooms with Mrs. Robert Schulte and Mrs. James Mesker as hostesses. Mrs. Thomas Osting is to be the chairman. Door awards went to Mrs. Robert Pothast and Mrs. Jack Swick.

• Mrs. Carroll Brenneman, as newly-elected president of Delphos Sorosis Club, will be assisted by the following roster of officers: Mrs. Walter Clark, first vice president; Mrs. C. O. Violet, second vice-president; Mrs. Robert H. Christy, recording secretary; Mrs. J. H. Jenkins, corresponding secretary; Eunice Ditto, treasurer; and Mrs. Nile Brenneman, Mrs. Robert Berry and Mrs. Clarence Marsh, executive committee.

75 Years Ago — 1938
• Delphos St. John’s won its first game in the sectional Class B tournament at Shawnee High School Friday night, defeating Middle Point by a score of 32 to 27. The Delphos boys started off well, scoring five points in the first quarter on field goals by Grothouse and Brandehoff and a free throw by Kemper. In the final period a free throw by Miller closed the scoring and St. John’s was five points to the good at the finish.

• The annual election of officers of the Tri-County Sportsmen and Farmers Protective Association was held Thursday night at a meeting held at the Frank Baker hall in Lima. A. M. Rodgers of Lima, was named as president to succeed A. N. Gilden of Scott’s Crossing. Gilden served as president of the organization for a number of years. He was named as vice president for 1938.

• The members of the 1917 Sewing Club held their annual election of officers Thursday afternoon when they met as guests of Mrs. D. G. Curtis, North Washington Street. The election resulted in the following: Mrs. Philip Walther, president; Mrs. Bert Metcalfe, vice president; Mrs. John Bryan, secretary; and Ethel Burgess, treasurer.


Add comment

Security code