September 1, 2014

Subscriber Login

Foor voted NWC top boys basketball honor PDF Print E-mail
Tuesday, February 26, 2013 10:05 AM

Paulding senior Lance Foor was chosen as the 2012-13 Northwest Conference Player of The Year by NWC boys basketball coaches at the annual selection meeting Monday evening at Jefferson.

Foor received 125 of a possible 135 points in the coaches’ voting.

Foor averaged 15.9 points per game along with 4.9 rebounds and 3 assists for the Panthers, while shooting 47 percent from the field and 75 percent from the free-throw line this year.

He was joined on the NWC first team by Columbus Grove’s Will Vorhees, Spencerville’s Derek Goecke, Lima Central Catholic’s Martyce Kimbrough and Tre’on Johnson and Crestview’s Tyson Bolenbaugh.

The voting procedure called for each coach to vote for the top 15 players on a 15-14-13, etc., point-descending scale. No coach could vote for his own players.

Coach of the Year honors in the NWC go to Kevin Sensabaugh of Spencerville. He led the Bearcats to an 8-1 conference mark and a co-championship with LCC.

The team breakdowns are as follows:

First Team: senior Lance Foor (Paulding), junior Will Vorhees (Columbus Grove), senior Derek Goecke (Spencerville), junior Martyce Kimbrough (LCC), junior Tyson Bolenbaugh (Crestview) and senior Tre’on Johnson (LCC).

Second Team: freshman Xavier Simpson (LCC), junior Kyle Williams (Lincolnview), junior Darius West (LCC), senior Tanner Richardson (Allen East), junior Kyle Kauser (Pailding), senior Ben Bowers (Spencerville), senior Michael Donley (Bluffton) and freshman Trey Smith (Jefferson).

Honorable Mention: junior Damian Helm (Crestview), junior Cam Etzler (Crestview), freshman Zach Goecke (Spencerville), junior Austin Dumbaugh (Ada), senior Derek Rieman (Columbus Grove), freshman Connor Lautzenheiser (Crestview) and senior Neil Roehrig (Paulding).

Final Standings: Spencerville and Lima Cent. Cath. 8-1, Crestview 7-2, Columbus Grove 6-3, Lincolnview and Paulding 5-4, Bluffton 3-6, Jefferson 2-7, Ada 1-8, Allen East 0-9.


Add comment

Security code