August 21, 2014

Subscriber Login

Versailles wins MAC mat title PDF Print E-mail
Monday, February 04, 2013 3:50 PM


This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. '; document.write( '' ); document.write( addy_text90764 ); document.write( '<\/a>' ); //--> This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


DELPHOS — Versailles swept both host St. John’s and Coldwater Saturday morning/afternoon at Robert A. Arnzen Gymnasium to grab the Midwest Athletic Conference team wrestling title on Senior Day for the Blue Jays.


Senior Will Buettner won the individual title by pinning both his opponents: Corey Selhorst from Coldwater (1:32) at 182 and Brett Gigandet of Versailles (:28) at 170.


The other seniors are Luke Wrasman and Aaron Wrasman, both presently injured.

As well, the coaches: head man Derek Sterling and assistants Jeff Fritz, Bill Kramer, Keith Buettner and Scott Miller; were also honored.

“We’re banged up right now. A couple of the guys could have wrestled today but they might not have been back enough and we want to get them as healthy as we can before they wrestle again,” Sterling said. “Hopefully, outside of one or two — Aaron had knee surgery Friday — they should all be back for sectionals in two weeks. Even though we are hurt, we can’t back off in practice or matches for the ones that are wrestling. We need to keep getting in better shape and fine-tuning our techniques on the mat, so we have to keep working hard. I’ve never been one to do that anyway; it’s that time of year when you have to be ready to go hard all the time.” Versailles whipped the Blue Jays 71-6 and the Cavaliers 66-6.

The Cavaliers trumped the Jays 59-15.

St. John’s had to void eight weight classes: 106, 113, 126, 145, 195, 220, 285 and 170 (versus Coldwater) and 182 (Versailles); due to injuries to half their roster.

“We had some competitive matches in both matches. I guess you can call Will the MAC champion because he pinned both his opponents, even though they were at two different weight classes,” Sterling added. “He is 34-6 right now and wrestling very well; we have high expectations from him and he can accomplish a lot the rest of the season. Wes went 1-1 but I felt that in the match he lost, there were some controversial decisions by the official; however, that is what it is. It happens. Alex also went 1-1; the match he lost, he just got caught.

“We lost to two teams that are in the Region 24 Team Dual Regional finals. They have a lot of good wrestlers and a lot more depth that we do.” Versailles and Coldwater battle in the Regional Finals of the OHSAA Team Dual Championships Wednesday.

Sectional wrestling starts Feb. 15th.


Coldwater 59, St. John’s 15

106: Jay Uhlenhake (C), void.

113: Spencer Siebert (C), void.

120: Grant Kaiser (C) major dec. Evan Mohler 12-2.

126: Jordan Obringer (C), void.

132: Reece Kaiser (C) major dec. Justin Siefker 15-3.

138: Alex Haunhorst (S) dec. Landon Schlater 6-1.

145: Troy Muhlenkamp (C), void.

152: Wes Buettner (S) pin Andrew Gillum, :19.

160: Mitch Clune (C) dec. Derek Anthony 6-4.

170: Derek Collett (C), void.

182: Will Buettner (S) pin Corey Selhorst, 1:32.

195: Andrew Schwieterman (C), void.

220: Justin Post (C), void.

285: Bob Cupp (C), void.

Versailles 71, St. John’s 6

106: Leo Vogel (V), void.

113: Nathan Henry (V), void.

120: Cory Dieringer (V) major dec. Evan Mohler 13-4.

126: Andrew Slonkosky (V), void.

132: Matt Mangen (V) major dec. Justin Siefker 12-4.

138: Matt Subler (V) pin Alex Haunhorst, 5:30.

145: Kyle Platfoot (V), void.

152: Brandon Christian (V) dec. Wes Buettner 9-7.

160: Joe Cain (V) pin Derek Anthony, 3:05.

170: Will Buettner (S) pin Brett Gigandet, :28.

182: Nick Francis (V), void.

195: Kyle Dieringer (V), void.

220: Dominic Richard (V), void.

285: Andrew Smith (V), void.

Versailles 66, Coldwater 6

106: Leo Vogel (V) dec. Kyle Sigler 7-0.

113: Nathan Henry (V) dec. Jason Kaiser 8-6.

120: Cory Dieringer (V) dec. Grant Kaiser 10-8 (OT).

126: Andrew Slonkosky (V) pin Alex Bowler, 1:02.

132: Matt Mangen (V) dec. Cody Tebby 14-9.

138: Matt Subler (V) pin Sam Mason, :44.

145: Kyle Platfoot (V) pin Andrew Gillum, :11.

152: Brandon Christian (V), void.

160: Joe Cain (V) pin Mitch Clune, :58.

170: Brett Gigandet (V), void.

182: Nick Francis (V) pin Cory Selhorst, 1:15.

195: Kyle Dieringer (V) pin Brandon Homan, 1:15.

220: Justin Post (C) pin Dominic Richard, :18.

285: Andrew Smith (V) pin Bob Cupp, 1:33.


Last Updated on Wednesday, February 27, 2013 3:51 PM

Add comment

Security code