August 22, 2014

Subscriber Login

Jennings school board receives standing ovation PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, January 16, 2013 3:57 PM

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

FORT JENNINGS — A standing ovation was given the Fort Jennings Board of Education during the meeting on Monday night in honor of School Board Appreciation Month.

In a written quote, the administration, staff, teachers and students expressed their appreciation for each board member’s dedication and commitment of time, guidance and support. Elementary Principal Kathleen Verhoff stood and applauded the panel for their outstanding achievements.

The board approved the Alternative Tax Budget with board member Deb Calvelage explaining the budget.

“The Alternative Tax Budget is a 5-year forecast for gas expenditures,” Calvelage said. “It will change with gas usage.”

In financial business, High School Principal Nicholas Langhals reviewed bus repair expenses paid for in December. “We are right on track with previous year’s budget,” Langhals verified. In other financial news, the board accepted a variety of donations: $165 from poster boards donated by Drew Fields; $500 to the Elementary Activities Fund for COSI expenses; $250 to the Art Department and $250 to the band, all from the Fort Jennings Boosters; and the donation of a Sousaphone, valued at $1,100, from Dennis and Virginia Calvelage.
Langhals reported Race to the Top is continuing as planned and they are looking at teacher evaluations in-depth.
In addition, the band is planning upcoming fundraising events to help with the cost of the band trip to Disney.

Citing a shorter Christmas break, good weather and strong student attendance, Verhoff announced that the school year is halfway complete.
The school board also held its yearly reorganizational meeting, electing Karl Schimmoeller as president and Cliff Wieging as vice president. Schimmoeller proceeded to appoint the following  committees;   Legislative

Liaison for OSBA Network — Schimmoeller and Wieging; Building — Aaron Ricker; Negotiations — Wieging and Schimmoeller; Small School District Advisory Committee Delegate — Ricker; Small School District Advisory Committee Alternate — Schimmoeller; Audit Committee — Calvelage and Don Good; and Student Achievement Liaison — Calvelage.


Add comment

Security code