September 2, 2014

Subscriber Login

Ottoville track to get facelift PDF Print E-mail
Friday, November 23, 2012 3:47 PM

This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

OTTOVILLE — The track at Ottoville Local Schools will be re-coated next year.
School board members approved a contract with Star Trac Enterprise of Southfield, Mich., for $52,000 to perform the work. The Big Green Athletic Boosters will give $25,000 for the project.

Star Trac was the successful bidder out of seven, including Pro Track and Tennis, $105,401; Hellas Equip Tracks, $91,000; Benynon, $89,310; Goddard Coatings, $68,900; Track Surfaces CO., $66,900; and All American Track Corp., $57,687.

Star Trac resurfaced the tennis courts at the White House when President George H.W. Bush was in office.

Treasurer Bob Weber reported health insurance quotes for 2013 are the same as in the past several years and dental quotes came in slightly higher.

Weber also reported the recently-completed volleyball tournament hosted by the Big Green raised $1,200 and the girls soccer tournament raised $1,000. The money will be deposited in the Athletic Fund.

Industrial Arts instructor James Hoersten has indicated his desire to retire and be rehired by the district in the same capacity. A notice has been posted in a local newspaper and a hearing will be held at 7:30 p.m. Feb. 20. Hoersten currently shares time between Ottoville and Fort Jennings, with Jennings picking up a portion of his salary and benefits. If he is rehired, the arrangement will remain the same.

The following athletes received post-season honors and were acknowledged by the school board:
Soccer (girls)
First Team PCL: Rachel Turnwald.
Second Team PCL: Nicole Vorst, Monica Sarka.
Honorable Mention: Haley Landwehr, Rachel Beining, Kendra Eickholt.
Scholar-Athletes: Rachel Beining, Kendra Koester, Marissa Pohlabel, Rachel Turnwald.

District Soccer Honors (girls)
First Team: Rachel Turnwald.
Second Team: Nicole Vorst. 
Honorable Mention: Monica Sarka, Rachel Beining.

Soccer (boys)
First Team PCL: Matt Burgei (POY), Anthony Eickholt, Dylan Klima.
Second Team: Bryan Hohlbein, Austin Honigford.
Honorable Mention: Austin Schroeder, Alex Horstman, Logan Gable.
Scholar-Athletes: Logan Gable, Bryan Hohlbein, Cory Fischer.
PCL Coach Of The Year: Eric Gerker.

District Soccer Honors
First Team: Matt Burgei.
Second Team: Anthony Eickholt.
Honorable Mention: Dylan Klima.

First Team PCL: Tonya Kaufman, Abby Siefker.
Second Team: Taylor Mangas.
Honorable Mention: Annie Lindeman, Tammy Wannemacher.
District Honors: Tonya Kaufman – Second Team, Abby Siefker – All-Star Game.
Scholar-Athlete: Abby Siefker, Tammy Wannemacher.

First Team PCL: Zach Weber (POY).
Second Team: Derek Schimmoeller, Wesley Markward.
District Honorable Mention: Zach Weber.  
In other business, the board:
• Approved hiring Tasha Eickholt as a substitute custodian; and
• Approved Vaughn Horstman and Susan Jones as volunteer indoor track coaches, as needed.


Add comment

Security code